Shaolin Kung Fu

      The Shaolin Kung Fu fundamental syllabus is divided into 12 levels. Each level consists of the four dimensions, form, force, application and philosophy. The duration of each level ranges from three to six months.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 1
      "Fundamentals of Shaolin Kungfu"

      Time: Wednesday 19:00 - 20:00, Macroom, Co. Cork.
      Tuesdays and Thursdays 18:00 - 21:00, 1-3 Grangegorman lower, Dublin 7.
      Form: 8 basic patterns of hand attack and defence. Basic stances (Horse-Riding, Bow-Arrow, False-Leg, Single-Leg, Unicorn and Goat) and footwork (forward, backward and sideways).
      Application: Specific Techniques against simple punches, kicks, holds on wrist, and throws from standing position. Use "Single Tiger" against punches, "Lohan Strikes Drum" against kicks, "Rolling thunder" against holds on wrist, shifting step against throws.
      Force: Zhang Zhuang (basic stances), One Finger Shoot Zen, The Art of Flexible Legs.
      Philosophy: Dimensions, aims and brief history.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 2
      "Lohan Asks the Way"

      Time: Wednesday 20:00 - 21:00, Macroom, Co. Cork.
      Form: Basic set "Lohan Asks the Way".
      Application: 4 basic hand attacks and defence from poise patterns. Sparring mode (pre-choice and self-choice).
      Force: Zhang Zhuang with hand forms, Spacing, Timing, Breath Co-ordination.
      Philosophy: Principles of Attack and Defence. Three Arrivals, Ask the Way, Safety First.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 3
      "Black Tiger Steals Heart"

      Form: Application set 1 "Black Tiger Steals Heart".
      Application: Hand attacks in three-step sequences. Sparring mode (changing patterns).
      Force: Flow of movement, Quick decision making, Instant modification.
      Philosophy: Principles of Force Training. Gradual Progress, Perseverance, Techniques and Skills.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 4
      "Fierce Tiger Speeds Across Valley"

      Form: Application Set 2 "Fierce Tiger Speeds through Valley", Patterns for kicks and defence.
      Application: Further hand attacks in three-step sequences, One-step kicking attacks and defence. Sparring mode (left or right and run-on sequence).
      Force: Leg-Stretching Exercises.
      Philosophy: Techniques, Tactics and Strategies. Soft against hard, Exploiting opponent's weakness and Avoiding his strong points.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 5
      "Happy Bird Hops up Branch"

      Form: Application Set 3 "Happy Bird Hops up Branch".
      Application: Combat sequences with kicking attacks.
      Force: Breath Co-ordination.
      Philosophy: Tactics Feign weakness, Pressing attack, Breaking opponent's momentum.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 6
      "Felling Tree with Roots"

      Form: Application Set 4 "Felling Tree with Roots".
      Application: Combat sequences with holds and falls.
      Force: Elegance and Speed.
      Philosophy: Strategies based on "Know Thyself, Know your Opponent".

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 7
      "Cross-Roads at Four Gates"

      Form: "Cross-Roads at Four Gates" is a treasure of Shaolin Kungfu, enabling us to experience profundity in simplicity.
      Application: Combination Set of Four Gates.
      Force: Solo performance as well as sparring with picture-perfect form, force, speed but without panting.
      Philosophy: Different levels of combat.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 8
      "Shaolin Staff"

      Form: Flowing Water Staff.
      Application: Against staff and other weapons. Safety, certainty and decisiveness, Avoiding strength and attacking weakness.
      Force: Hit, Thrust, and Eye sight training.
      Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 9
      "Shaolin Sabre"

      Form: Plum Flower Single Sabre.
      Application: Against sabre, spear and other weapons.
      Force: Accuracy and "sabre force" to cut an apple or any suitable object for testing.
      Philosophy: Characteristics of major weapons such as staff, sabre, spear, sword, dagger, Big Knife, trident and soft whip.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 10
      "Unarmed against armed"

      Form: Empty Hands Enter White Blade.
      Application: Unarmed against dagger, staff and sabre. "Over Bridge, Flow with Water".
      Force: Countering feign moves.
      Philosophy: The principles and practice of Apparent and Real.

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 11
      "Single Unarmed against Multiple Unarmed"

      Form: Tiger Enters Herd of Sheep.
      Application: Single unarmed against multiple unarmed. Agility stamina and endurance.
      Force: "Bamboo Man" or "Through the Woods".
      Philosophy: "Back-wall battle" and "Dodge-hit battle".

      Shaolin Kung Fu Level 12
      "Single Unarmed and Armed against Multiple Armed"

      Form: Dodge Hit.
      Application: Single unarmed and armed against multiple armed.
      Force: Dodging skills and using enemy as shields.
      Philosophy: "Catch the Leader First" and "Break Through the Weakest". Importance of mind and energy control.